04 Nov 2023

South Australia’s top tourism businesses revealed


Monarto Safari Park - Murray River, Lakes and Coorong
Monarto Safari Park - Murray River, Lakes and Coorong

The winners of the 2023 South Australian Tourism Awards have been revealed, featuring 31 category winners and four inductees to the coveted Hall of Fame.

The South Australian Tourism Awards program, delivered annually by Tourism Industry Council South Australia (TiCSA), recognises business excellence and outstanding achievement in the state’s tourism industry. Winners were announced at a Gala Dinner on Friday 3 November at the Adelaide Convention Centre. 

This year, four businesses across the state were honoured with induction into the South Australian Tourism Awards Hall of Fame for winning gold in their respective categories for the third consecutive year:

  • The Cedars Hahndorf – Cultural Tourism
  • Bendleby Ranges – Adventure Tourism
  • Woodhouse Adventure Park – Unique Accommodation
  • Naiko Retreat – Self-contained Accommodation

Additionally, two businesses took home the Voters’ Choice Awards, determined through votes from their visitors, supporters, and local communities. With nearly 20,000 votes cast across all finalists, the winners are:

  • Monarto Safari Park – Voters’ Choice Award for Experience and/or Service
  • BIG4 Renmark Riverfront Holiday Park – Voters’ Choice Award for Accommodation

The Outstanding Achievement Award was presented to Ian Horne, the long-term CEO of the Australian Hotels Association SA, in recognition of his nearly four decades of advocacy and leadership within the industry.

Isabel Nietschke was recognised as the South Australian Young Achiever for demonstrating exceptional potential both through her industry engagement and impact, and academic pursuits at Flinders University.

South Australian Taxi Driver of the Year went to Jayant Jain, from Adelaide Independent Taxis, for his consistent dedicated service and positive attitude encapsulated by his ‘give a smile, get a smile’ approach.

TiCSA Chief Executive Officer, Shaun de Bruyn congratulated all of this year’s winners, medallists and finalists.

"The South Australian Tourism Awards give us a stage to showcase the excellence, innovation and dedication of our industry. I am proud to recognise every entrant in this year’s South Australian Tourism Awards program as dedicated operators striving for excellence," he said.

Minister for Tourism, Zoe Bettison said the diversity and excellence of the winners demonstrate what makes South Australia a must-visit tourism destination. 

"I congratulate all winners of the 2023 South Australian Tourism Awards, who represent the world-class calibre of our state’s tourism industry," Minister Bettison said.
"With South Australia’s visitor economy at an all-time high of $9.9 billion, it is clear this could only be achieved through the innovation and dedication of operators across the state who deliver incredible offerings which entice visitors from all over to see South Australia."

Winners from most categories will go on to represent South Australia in the national Australian Tourism Awards in Darwin next year.

The 2023 South Australian Tourism Awards is supported by the South Australian Government, through the South Australian Tourism Commission. 

See full list of winners and medallists at ticsa.com.au.