28 Jul 2020

Industry Update - VIC border tightening and State Cabinet changes

Good afternoon,

A short note from me to confirm today’s changes to State Cabinet, and also a reminder to everyone that tonight, our border to Victoria will be closed to everyone but essential travellers.

As confirmed by Premier Steven Marshall last week, South Australians have until 12.01am Wednesday 29 July to cross the border. Over the past few days, road and air traffic has increased as South Australians leave Victoria, return home and prepare for a two week self-isolation in SA.

The criteria for essential travellers, including people involved in the freight and logistics industry, has not changed. For further advice, please visit covid-19.sa.gov.au.

Victorian cross-border community members are also able to travel within a 40km of the border of SA for work, medical reasons, education, receiving care or support and obtaining food and supplies. People are only eligible for Cross Border Community status if they reside within 40km of the Victorian/South Australian border.

Premier Marshall did not announce any further changes to the existing border restrictions after today’s Transition Committee meeting, however urged South Australians to remain vigilant as we monitor the evolving situations interstate.

I’m pleased to hear that the Premier has retained the Tourism portfolio, and the South Australian Tourism Commission looks forward to continuing to work with him to showcase our great sector. There has never been a more important time to strongly advocate the innovative tourism operators and the amazing products and experiences we have to offer in South Australia.

You may also want an update on the changes to State Cabinet, as it may impact your community or business:

  • The Attorney-General will assume the additional responsibility of Planning and Local Government
  • Minister Corey Wingard will be appointed Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, while retaining Recreation, Sport and Racing
  • Current Speaker of the House, Vincent Tarzia will join the Cabinet to become the Minister for Police, Emergency Services and Correctional Services
  • Member for Finniss, David Basham will be elevated to Cabinet to become the Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development
  • Member for Morphett, Stephen Patterson will also be elevated to Cabinet to become the Minister for Trade and Investment
  • Treasurer and Minister Rob Lucas becomes responsible for Renewal SA.

I look forward to heading to the Murray River, Lakes and Coorong region this week with our SATC Chair Andrew Bullock.

Yours sincerely,

Rodney Harrex
Chief executive