18 Jul 2019

South Australian Regions are the Jewel in the Crown for the 2020 Santos Tour Down Under

18 JUL 2019
18 JUL 2019

Engagement with townships and their communities is a strategic feature of next year’s Santos Tour Down Under.

The stages have been designed to bring the excitement and activity of the Santos Tour Down Under to regional spectators, with circuits playing a prominent part and race stages showcasing new towns and regions.

The 2020 Santos Tour Down Under has been designed for fans to watch and experience the race over multiple laps and spend longer periods of time in each of the regions, allowing communities to showcase destination experiences as the peloton travels through their towns.

Minister for Recreation, Sport and Racing, Corey Wingard, said the TDU team are always looking to deliver a bigger and better event.

“The 2020 Santos Tour Down Under race routes will challenge the world’s best cycling teams and riders whilst adding more elements of excitement and entertainment for fans,” said Minister Wingard.

“A regional focus will see more fans heading out to our small towns, providing an opportunity to showcase the best destination experiences that South Australia has to offer.

“Mark January 16 – 26 on your calendars and get ready to celebrate. We want South Australians and visitors from around the world, out on our streets to cheer on our cycling greats.”

Santos Tour Down Under Race Director, Mike Turtur, said that his team face the unenviable challenge each year to design a course for the race that will test the riders and create a spectacle for the fans.

“The route is constantly evolving. Not only do we need to create a route that provides enough challenges to draw elite riders from around the world to enter the race, but we also need to ensure it is suitable for sprinters and all-rounders alike,” said Turtur.

“I am positive that next year’s race will be hotly contested. Personally, I am looking forward to Stage 2 which features a first-time start at Woodside before crossing over to Stirling which is a route sure to suit the all-rounders.

“Another stage set to be a highlight is Stage 4 with the cross-wind between Mannum and Murray Bridge a considerable element to be contended with – definitely conditions to suit sprinters,” said Turtur.

Santos Managing Director and CEO Kevin Gallagher said, after signing a new three-year deal in January, this will be the eleventh year Santos has been the naming rights sponsor of the TDU.

“Santos is South Australia’s biggest company, providing more than 3,500 jobs across the country. Just like our company, the Santos Tour Down Under delivers for the economy and this year generated $70.7 million in economic impact for South Australia.

“Santos is committed to benefitting the communities in which we operate. In 2019 the Santos Tour Down Under passed through almost one hundred towns, making this truly an event which showcases the natural beauty, clean environment and diverse nature of our great state to Australia and the world.”

“The Santos Tour Down Under has great alignment with our community investment objectives – to support healthy living, regional communities and the environment.”

The 2019 Santos Tour Down Under attracted a record 48,300 visitors from interstate and overseas who travelled specifically to South Australia for the event, generating an economic impact equivalent to creating 837 full time jobs.

The 2020 Santos Tour Down Under will be held from January 16 – 26, with the Down Under Classic on Sunday January 19 being the prelude to the Men’s Santos Tour Down Under starting on Tuesday January 21. The City of Adelaide Tour Village will continue to be the central hub of the Santos Tour Down Under, housing teams, sponsors, exhibitors, as well as activations, entertainment, and food and beverage.

2020 Santos Tour Down Under Race Routes Summary
Sunday 19 January 2020: Classic: Flinders Street Circuit (51 km)
Tuesday 21 January 2020: Stage 1: Tanunda Circuit (150 km)
Wednesday 22 January 2020: Stage 2: Woodside to Stirling (135 km)
Thursday 23 January 2020: Stage 3: Unley to Paracombe (131 km)
Friday 24 January 2020: Stage 4: Norwood to Murray Bridge (152 km)
Saturday 25 January 2020: Stage 5: Glenelg to Victor Harbor (149.1 km)
Sunday 26 January 2020: Stage 6: McLaren Vale to Willunga Hill (151.5 km)

Further details on the race routes can be found here.