14 Dec 2022

Kyrgios and world’s top four women Swiatek, Jabeur, Pegula and Garciato set for Adelaide

Image credit: Adelaide International
Image credit: Adelaide International

Australia’s top-ranked man Nick Kyrgios and the world’s top four-ranked women Iga Swiatek, Ons Jabeur, Jessica Pegula and Caroline Garcia are set to play Adelaide International 2 at The Drive from 9 to 14 January 2023.

This is the first time Kyrgios will play an ATP 250 event in Adelaide, which is home to his good friend and doubles partner Thanasi Kokkinakis. Kyrgios joins the likes of world No.8 Andrey Rublev, Lorenzo Musetti, Dan Evans and Sebastian Korda in the men’s singles field.

World No.22 and Wimbledon 2022 finalist Kyrgios is excited to play in South Australia next month.

“I have heard good things about the tournament and the upgraded venue at The Drive,” Kyrgios said.

“I am looking forward to playing in Adelaide. My good friend Thanasi had a great run last year in front of his home crowd and I hope I can enjoy the same success and support in January.”

Sixteen of the world’s top 20 will line up for the WTA 500 tournament. Joining the top four women will be Wimbledon 2022 champion Elena Rybakina, defending champion and world No.11 Madison Keys, Tokyo 2020 gold medallist Belinda Bencic and two-time Grand Slam champion Petra Kvitova.

Garcia enjoyed her best season on tour in 2022, reaching her first Grand Slam singles semifinal at the US Open.

“Adelaide is a great tournament for me to play leading into the Australian Open. The field is always strong and I know the people of Adelaide love their tennis,” Garcia said.

Minister for Tourism, Zoe Bettison said securing Kyrgios was a great outcome for the event, and a big win for tennis fans.

“Kyrgios definitely pulls a crowd, and always puts on a show, so to have him coming to Adelaide as part of his warm-up for the Australian Open is a massive bonus for South Australia. I am looking forward to seeing him play at his first Adelaide International at the new look Drive," Minister Bettison said.

"The line-up for the event is the strongest one we’ve seen, so it is going to be a very big January when we see fans from all over coming to Adelaide to watch world-class tennis over two weeks, explore our lane-way bars and cafés, and discover our city and regions."

“We are expecting spectacular tennis here in Adelaide next month, with the world’s best coming to play. Confirming the entry of Nick Kyrgios today really adds to the program,” Adelaide International Tournament Director Alistair MacDonald said.

“This is a great opportunity for Australian tennis fans to see Nick take to court at The Drive. We all remember the doubles final at the Australian Open earlier this year where he and Kokkinakis took victory – it is not everyday you can witness these Aussie champions play at home.

“It will be brilliant to see the top four women in the world take to the court. Caroline Garcia is arguably one of the most in-form players heading into next season and has the potential to be a Grand Slam winner.

“We are urging tennis fans to secure their tickets to be a part of the crowd and atmosphere this summer, cheering on one of the strongest fields we’ve seen here in Adelaide at our Festival of Tennis – with strong competition on court and amazing entertainment off the court.”

Adelaide International Week 2 (9 to 14 January 2023)

WTA 500

Rank  Player Country
1 Iga Swiatek POL
2 Ons Jabeur TUN
3 Jessica Pegula USA
4 Caroline Garcia FRA
8 Daria Kasatkina  
9 Veronika Kudermetova  
11 Madison Keys USA
12 Belinda Bencic SUI
13 Paula Badosa ESP
14 Danielle Collins USA
15 Beatriz Haddad Maia BRA
16 Petra Kvitova CZE
17 Anett Kontaveit EST
18 Jelena Ostapenko LAT
19 Ekaterina Alexandrova  
20 Liudmila Samsonova  
21 Elena Rybakina KAZ
21 (SR) Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova  
22 Barbora Krejcikova CZE


ATP 250

Rank Player Country
8 Andrey Rublev  
13 Pablo Carreno Busta ESP
20 Karen Khachanov  
21 Roberto Bautista Agut ESP
22 Nick Kyrgios AUS
23 Lorenzo Musetti ITA
27 Daniel Evans GBR
29 Miomir Kecmanovic SRB
31 Alejandro Davidovich Fokina ESP
32 Tommy Paul USA
33 Sebastian Korda USA
34 Maxime Cressy USA
26 Yoshihito Nishioka JPN
39 Albert Ramos-Vinolas ESP
40 Emil Ruusuvuori FIN
42 Jack Draper GBR
44 Arthur Rinderknech FRA
45 Lorenzo Sonego ITA
47 Brandon Nakashima USA