10 Jan 2023
Alerts

All star broadcast team for 2023 Santos Tour Down Under

Mark Beretta
Mark Beretta

Santos Tour Down Under, alongside Seven Network, have announced their commentary team, including the full broadcast schedule for the much-anticipated return of the 2023 Santos Tour Down Under.

The all-star team includes the international ‘voice of cycling’, Phil Liggett, who covered his 50th Tour de France in 2022, and leading Australian cycling broadcaster Matthew Keenan. Both will use their in-depth racing knowledge during play-by-play commentary from the panel.

Former cycling champions Robbie McEwen, Anna Meares and Gracie Elvin will bring valuable insights to their roles as experts on the commentary panel, and stars of Australia’s #1 breakfast show, Sunrise, Mark Beretta and James Tobin will also join the star-studded team. Beretta will host the broadcast onsite and Tobin will deliver the colour and excitement from the roadside daily for both the men’s and women’s races.

Rounding out the on-air team will be Olympic cyclist Scott McGrory OAM, who will conduct rider interviews at starts and finishes, and current TDU Assistant Race Director Annette (Nettie) Edmondson, who will add special comments for the final day of the women’s race.

The broadcast begins Sunday 15 January on Seven and 7plus, with the women’s race returning as a Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) Women’s WorldTour (top level of road cycling competition) race for the first time. Also a first, the women’s race will be broadcast in full on free to air television and internationally.

The former cycling greats on the broadcast team will bring un-paralleled expertise and insight to viewers:

  • Robbie McEwen, one of Australia’s greatest cyclists and three-time Tour de France Green Jersey holder will make his return to the Santos Tour Down Under commentary team, providing expert takes on the action.
  • Cycling’s golden girl, Anna Meares, who was recently named to lead the 2024 Australian Olympic team as the Chef de Mission, will add colour to the action as part of the broadcast team once again.
  • Gracie Elvin, who retired from cycling in 2020, is in a unique position to bring valuable insights to the women’s race panel, having raced with and against many of the women competing in the 2023 TDU.
  • Scott McGrory, Olympic gold medallist, race director of the National Cycling Championships and The Herald Sun Tour, will add his experience and knowledge to get in-depth roadside interviews.
  • Annette Edmondson, current Assistant Race Director of the 2023 TDU, Olympian and former cycling champion has also raced alongside, and helped to support and mentor many of the women competing.

Mark Beretta said he was thrilled to be part of the broadcast team in 2023.

“We have the perfect team combining years of broadcast and professional cycling experience, and what could be more fitting for the return of international racing at the Santos Tour Down Under,” Beretta said.

“The Santos Tour Down Under is one of the greatest sporting events in this country and we are so privileged to have the world’s best cycling teams bring their stars to Australia for the first pro race of the year.

“The fan experience at the Santos Tour Down Under is amazing. To have the opportunity to get open access to the riders and the teams, in front of a beautiful backdrop across South Australia, is unbeatable.

“The race routes and finishes are something else, showing off this amazing region and some of Australia’s best kept secrets. This is one of my absolute favourite events of the year and I can’t wait to saddle up with international cycling’s greatest commentator, Phil Liggett, and our expert team for the best Tour Down Under ever!”

Seven’s coverage begins on Sunday 15 January, with Women’s Ziptrak Stage 1 race, from Glenelg to Aldinga. Each stage of both the women’s and men’s races will be broadcast daily, with catch-ups available on 7plus in all states.

The Santos Tour Down Under runs from Friday 13 January to Sunday 22 January. View the full broadcast schedule below and further information at www.tourdownunder.com.au. 

BROADCAST SCHEDULE:

Sunday 15 January 2023

Women’s Ziptrak Stage 1
Adelaide: 11:30am - 3:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Sydney: 12:00pm - 4:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Melbourne: 12:00pm - 4:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Brisbane: 11:00am - 3:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Perth: 9:00am - 1:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
ALL OTHER STATES: Watch on 7plus or check your local TV programming schedule.

Monday 16 January 2023

Women’s Singapore Airlines Stage 2
Adelaide: 11:30am - 12:00pm - Watch on 7plus | 12:00pm - 2:30pm - Watch on Channel 7 and 7plus
Sydney: 12:00pm - 12:30pm - Watch on 7plus | 12:30pm - 3:00pm - Watch on 7Flix and 7plus
Melbourne: 12:00pm - 12:30pm - Watch on 7plus | 12:30pm - 3:00pm - Watch on 7Flix and 7plus
Brisbane: 11:00am - 11:30am - Watch on 7plus |11:30am - 2:00pm - Watch on 7Flix and 7plus
Perth: 9:00am - 9:30pm - Watch on 7plus | 9:30am - 12:00pm - Watch on 7Flix and 7plus
ALL OTHER STATES: Watch on 7plus or check your local TV programming schedule.

Tuesday 17 January 2023

Women’s Let’s Go Motorhome Stage 3
Adelaide: 12:00pm - 3:00pm - Watch on Channel 7 and 7plus
Sydney: 12:30pm - 3:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Melbourne: 12:30pm - 3:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Brisbane: 11:30am - 2:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Perth: 9:30am - 12:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
ALL OTHER STATES: Watch on 7plus or check your local TV programming schedule.

Men’s Prologue
Adelaide: 5:30pm - 9:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Sydney: 6:00pm - 9:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Melbourne: 6:00pm - 9:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Brisbane: 5:00pm - 8:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Perth: 3:00pm - 6:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
ALL OTHER STATES: Watch on 7plus or check your local TV programming schedule.

Wednesday 18 January 2023

Men’s Ziptrak Stage 1
Adelaide: 12:00pm - 3:30pm - Watch on Channel 7 and 7plus (From 11.30am on 7Two and 7plus)
Sydney: 12:00pm - 4:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Melbourne: 12:00pm - 4:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Brisbane: 11:00am - 3:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Perth: 9:00am - 1:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
ALL OTHER STATES: Watch on 7plus or check your local TV programming schedule.

Thursday 19 January 2023

Men’s Oakley Stage 2
Adelaide: 12:00pm - 4:00pm - Watch on Channel 7 and 7plus (from 11:30am on 7two and 7plus)
Sydney: 12:00pm - 4:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Melbourne: 12:00pm - 4:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Brisbane: 11:00am - 3:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Perth: 9:00am - 1:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
ALL OTHER STATES: Watch on 7plus or check your local TV programming schedule.

Friday 20 January 2023

Men’s Hahn Stage 3
Adelaide: 12:00pm - 3:00pm - Watch on Channel 7 and 7plus (from 11:30am on 7two and 7plus)
Sydney: 12:00pm - 3:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Melbourne: 12:00pm - 3:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Brisbane: 11:00am - 2:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Perth: 9:00am - 12:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
ALL OTHER STATES: Watch on 7plus or check your local TV programming schedule.

Saturday 21 January 2023

Men’s Think! Road Safety Stage 4
Adelaide: 12:00pm - 3:30pm - Watch on Channel 7 and 7plus (from 11:30am on 7plus)
Sydney: 12:30pm - 4:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus (from 12:00pm on 7plus)
Melbourne: 12:30pm - 4:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus (from 12:00pm on 7plus)
Brisbane: 11:30am - 3:00pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus (from 11:00am on 7plus)
Perth: 9:30am - 1:00pm - Watch on 7flix and 7plus (from 9:00am on 7plus)
ALL OTHER STATES: Watch on 7plus or check your local TV programming schedule.
Sunday 22 January 2023

Men’s Schwalbe Stage 5
Adelaide: 11:30am - 1:00pm - Watch on Channel 7 and 7plus (1:00pm - 3:00pm on 7two and 7plus)
Sydney: 12:00pm - 3:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Melbourne: 12:00pm - 3:30pm - Watch on 7two- and 7plus
Brisbane: 11:00am - 2:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
Perth: 9:00am - 12:30pm - Watch on 7two and 7plus
ALL OTHER STATES: Watch on 7plus or check your local TV programming schedule.