20 Jan 2020

Adelaide To Host Davis Cup Tie In March 2020

20 JAN 2020
20 JAN 2020

International tennis is set to return to Memorial Drive this year when Australia takes on Brazil in the Davis Cup by Rakuten Qualifier in March.

The South Australian Government secured the event after funding the newly redeveloped Memorial Drive Tennis Centre, which now features a new woven fibreglass membrane roof over centre court.

Lleyton Hewitt, captain of the Australian team, will lead the nation’s top ranked men including the likes of Alex de Minaur, Nick Kyrgios, John Millman, Jordan Thompson and John Peers against Brazil.

The last time Australia won the Davis Cup in 2003 Lleyton Hewitt won the opening singles match and the team was captained by fellow South Australian John Fitzgerald.

Premier Steven Marshall said the announcement comes after Adelaide’s Memorial Drive hosted 100 of the world’s best tennis players at the Adelaide International and is testament to the quality of the venue.

“The Marshall Liberal Government’s $10 million investment in the redevelopment of the Memorial Drive sporting precinct has proven yet again that it is able to draw top shelf events and athletes to our state,” said Mr Marshall.

“To welcome back some of Australian tennis’ biggest names in a matter of weeks of having hosted them, will inject even more life into South Australia’s bumper summer of sports and further visitor economic expenditure.”

Tennis SA CEO Debbie Sterry said, “We’re delighted the new-look Memorial Drive Tennis Centre has been selected to host the Davis Cup qualifier between Australia and Brazil.”

“South Australia has embraced the Adelaide International in its first year and we’re expecting the local community and interstate visitors will again come along in full force to support the green and gold in March.”

The two teams will play for one of 12 spots in the Davis Cup Finals and join the four 2019 semi-finalists, Canada, Great Britain, Russia and Spain, as well as the two 2020 wildcards, France and Serbia, in Madrid, Spain in November.

The qualifying tie will consist of four singles matches and one doubles matches with all matches played over the best-of-three tiebreak sets. Two singles matches will be played on Friday 6 March, with the doubles match followed by two reverse singles matches on Saturday 7 March.

Australia is one of the most successful Davis Cup nations in the event’s history, having won the title 28 times and finishing runner-up on 19 other occasions.

Two-day tickets are on sale via Ticketmaster. Team nominations will be announced 10 days out from the tie.