Skip to content
South Australian bushfire update – emergency information

New Chair and Directors appointed to the SA Tourism Commission Board

The State Government has announced the appointment of respected national hotel and tourism industry leader, Andrew Bullock, as the new Chair of the South Australian Tourism Commission Board.

Mr Bullock is Chief Executive of 1834 Hotels Group (formerly Country Club Hotels & Resorts) – a network of individually-owned hotels, motels, apartments and resorts across Australia – and has more than 17 years’ business experience in the sector.

Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment David Ridgway said Mr Bullock’s wealth of industry experience, knowledge and insights would be invaluable as South Australia continues to drive its $6.8 billion visitor economy.

“We are delighted to welcome Andrew Bullock as Chair of the South Australian Tourism Commission Board and we look forward to gaining the benefit of his almost two decades of successful leadership in the sector, both in South Australia and interstate,” said Minister Ridgway.

“The Marshall Liberal Government is unwavering in its commitment to building South Australia’s visitor economy – with a target of $8 billion by the end of next year - which will drive ongoing jobs growth and benefit the more than 18,000 dedicated and passionate tourism operators right across the state.

“Mr Bullock also has a strong understanding of the unique opportunities and challenges facing our tourism operators in regional SA, a traditional backbone of our destination marketing initiatives.”

Mr Bullock has been appointed for two years and will take up the position on Tuesday. He takes over from Sean Keenihan, who is stepping down from the role after four successful years.

“We congratulate and thank Mr Keenihan for his valuable service to the local tourism sector, during which time an additional 5,000 jobs were created, many of them in the regions, and record growth was achieved,’’ said Minister Ridgway.

The Government has also announced the appointment of two incoming SATC Board Directors:
  • Grant Wilckens – founder and Chief Executive Officer of G’Day Group
  • Donna Gauci – Chief Operating Officer of SeaLink Travel Group

Australian Hotels Association’s SA Manager, Ian Horne, has also been re-appointed to the SATC Board for a further two years.

Mr Wilckens fills a vacancy on the Board, and Ms Gauci replaces outgoing Board Director, Julie Smith, owner of Rawnsley Park Station, whose term expires at the end of the month.

Mr Ridgway thanked Ms Smith for her “tireless work and dedication to the sector’’ and wished her well in her future endeavours.