South Australia’s 11 non-metropolitan tourism regions operate independently of the South Australian Tourism Commission (SATC). Organisational structures and staffing arrangements differ between regions. Regions contract with the SATC to provide advice on key areas such as PR and familiarisations. The SATC and regional stakeholders together have developed Destination Action Plans (DAPs) for all regions. The DAPs are practical lists of targets which the stakeholders believe are achievable in a three-year period. They shape the SATC’s commitment of resources across all its divisions to each region. They are reviewed and updated regularly.



Riverbank precinct - Adelaide

The Adelaide metropolitan area is not covered by a regional tourism organisation. Key local councils have their own tourism staff and the SATC liaises with them. The state government’s Vibrant Adelaide initiative includes a strong tourism focus and brings together key agencies and the Adelaide City Council.

Rosanna Francesca
Senior City Experience Advisor
Adelaide City Council
2nd Floor 25 Pirie Street
Adelaide, SA, 5000
T: +618 8203 7728

Adelaide Hills

Bridgewater Mill - Adelaide Hills

Adelaide Hills Tourism is the regional tourism organisation. Its board includes representatives of its two funding councils, Adelaide Hills Council and the District Council of Mount Barker, as well as several tourism operators.

Bill Nehmy
Project Officer (Part-time)
Adelaide Hills Tourism
PO Box 44
Woodside SA 5244
T: +61 466 153 204


Cellar in the Barossa

Tourism Barossa is a membership-based organisation. Its board draws on representation from the regional tourism and wine industries and local government.

Cathy Wills
Regional Tourism Manager
Tourism Barossa
PO Box 420
Tanunda SA 5352
T: +618 8563 0662

Clare Valley

Clare Valley

Regional Development Australia Yorke and Mid North coordinates industry-based tourism initiatives for the region. With funding support from local councils it employs a part-time experience development officer.

Amanda Redden
Clare Valley Tourism Manager
RDA Yorke and Mid North
155 Main North Road
Clare SA 5453
T: +618 8842 3115

Eyre Peninsula

Swimming with sea lions - Eyre Peninsula

Eyre Peninsula Tourism drives tourism for the region. It has an executive drawn from 5 sub-regional committees. It is funded by the region’s local councils and is supported by Regional Development Australia Whyalla Eyre Peninsula.

Jade Ballantine
Special Projects Officer
RDA Whyalla Eyre Peninsula
89 Liverpool Street
Port Lincoln SA 5606
T: +618 8682 6588

Fleurieu Peninsula

Maslin Beach - Fleurieu Peninsula

Fleurieu Peninsula Tourism is the regional tourism organisation. Its board comprises representatives of the tourism industry and the local councils which provide key funding support to it.

Miranda Lang
Tourism Executive Officer
Fleurieu Peninsula Tourism
6 George Main Street
Victor Harbor SA 5211
T: +61 407 335 543

Flinders Ranges and Outback

Ballooning over Wilpena Pound, Flinders Ranges

Flinders Ranges and Outback South Australia Tourism (FROSAT) is the regional tourism organisation. FROSAT works through two committees which deal with the two zones in this vast region: the Flinders Ranges National Landscape Project Management Committee and the Outback Tourism Working Party. FROSAT does not itself employ staff. The Southern Flinders Regional Tourism Authority, a consortium of local councils, employs staff. Regional Development Australia Far North manages funding provided by local councils for the rest of the region.

Ben Boothby - Outback and Flinders Ranges(Central and North)
Project Officer - Tourism
Flinders Ranges and Outback
Regional Development Australia Far North
2a Stirling Road
Port Augusta SA 5700
T: +618 8641 1444

Kangaroo Island

Remarkable Rocks - Kangaroo Island

Tourism Kangaroo Island is a membership-based regional tourism organisation. Its staffing resources are allocated to the Kangaroo Island Gateway Visitor Information Centre.

Pierre Gregor
Tourism Kangaroo Island
PO Box 336
Penneshaw SA 5221
T: +618 8553 1185

Kylie Bamfield
Project Officer
T: +618 8553 1185

Limestone Coast

Obelisk - Limestone Coast

The South East Local Government Association funds the employment of a tourism development officer based with Regional Development Australia Limestone Coast.

Biddie Shearing
Tourism Industry Development Manager, Limestone Coast Local Government Association
PO Box 1445
Mount Gambier SA 5290
T: +618 8723 1057

Murray River, Lakes & Coorong

Jetty - Murray River

The Murray River Lakes and Coorong Tourism Alliance is the regional tourism organisation. Its board brings together tourism operators and representatives of the local councils which fund it.

Julie Bates
Tourism Development Manager
Murray River Lakes and Coorong Tourism Alliance/Regional Development Australia Murraylands and Riverland
137 Adelaide Road
Murray Bridge SA 5253
T: +61 458 505 169


Riverland - Houseboat

Destination Riverland is the regional tourism organisation. The region’s local councils provide the main funding support. Its board comprises members with tourism and other relevant experience and skills.

Caroline Phillips
Executive Officer.
Destination Riverland
6 Kay Avenue
Berri SA 5343
T: +618 8580 8500

Yorke Peninsula

Stenhouse Bay - Yorke Peninsula

Yorke Peninsula Tourism is the regional tourism organisation. The region’s local councils provide the main funding support.

Brooke Liebelt
Yorke Peninsula Tourism Manager
50 Graves Street
Kadina SA 5554
T: +618 8821 2663

Back to top
ATDW-Online Visitor statistics, South Australia Restaurant Australia