World’s top riders in 17 teams to contest Santos Women’s Tour

09 January 2016

Minister Leon Bignell
Minister for Tourism

A strong field of professional women cyclists will launch the 2016 Santos Women’s Tour with
17 teams featuring seven of the world’s top ranked 50 riders.

In its second year, the Santos Women’s Tour celebrates being granted international status by
the world’s governing body, the UCI.

Tourism Minister Leon Bignell said the international status meant high profile competitors have
been attracted to the event.

“The State Government is a strong supporter of women's sport and international cycling and
this event brings those two priorities together,” Mr Bignell said.

“It’s great to welcome world number 15, Shelley Olds (Cylance Pro Cycling) from the United
States, to her inaugural Santos Women’s Tour who will undoubtedly be vying for a place on
the winner’s podium,” he said.

“In 2015, Shelley finished second overall and won the Overall Sprinters Jersey in the Ladies
Tour of Norway, including a stage win.

“The Santos Women’s Tour title holder, Valentina Scandolara returns to our streets and the
field will be eager to stop her from claiming back-to-back victories.

“Of the top ranked riders competing, six are Australian and this is a great testament to the
calibre of athletes born and raised in this great sporting nation.

“Spectators will be impressed by the likes of Chloe Hoskings (Wiggle High5 Pro Cycling),
Amanda Spratt and Karin Garfoot (Orica-AIS), Lauren Kitchen (Hitec Products) and South
Australia’s own Tiffany Cromwell (SASI Cycling).

“The four day race will see 97 riders across 17 teams compete throughout Mt Torrens,
Adelaide, Lyndoch and Victoria Park.

Race Director Kimberley Conte said she was thrilled with the start list and expected tough
competition and hard racing across the four stages.

“We have a strong entry list, so it is clear the Santos Women’s Tour is cementing its popularity
and status,” she said.

The event is the first race in the 2016 Subaru National Road Series (NRS) and the NRS teams
will be racing for NRS points.

The 17 teams taking to the start line include:
Bikebug-NextGen - Australia
BCWS - Australia
BOSS Racing Team - Australia
Cylance Pro Cycling - USA
High5 Dream Team - Australia
Hitec Products - Norway
Holden Women's Cycling Team - Australia
Mercedes-Benz Adelaide Blackchrome - Australia
Nicheliving Vault - Australia
New Zealand - New Zealand
Orica-AIS - Australia
Roxsolt - New Zealand
Rush women’s team - Australia
Sasi cycling - Australia
Specialized women's racing - Australia
Subaru nswis nkc - Australia
Wiggle High5 Pro Cycling - UK

For a full rider start list visit

Back to top
ATDW-Online Explore Visitor statistics, South Australia Restaurant Australia