Team Sky ready to race with Ochre firmly set in their sights

07 January 2015

Tasmanian cycling great Richie Porte will be motivated and riding with intent to win the Santos Ochre Leader’s Jersey when he leads Team Sky at the 2015 Santos Tour Down Under.

Porte had an excellent start to his 2014 season in Australia finishing third behind Simon Gerrans and Cadel Evans at the 2014 National Road Race Championships. He then went on to win the penultimate fifth stage of the 2014 Santos Tour Down Under and finished fourth in the overall General Classification.

Race Director, Mike Turtur said he was pleased to see Richie return to the race and like many Aussie cycling fans looked forward to seeing him alongside Cadel Evans on the start line.

“Richie and the team raced really well here last year and we expect cycling fans are in for a great display of determination and skill again by Team Sky at the event as they battle the climbs on the road to glory.”

“Richie is an accomplished rider, having achieved one of his careers biggest victories in 2013, winning two stages and the overall classification at Paris-Nice. It is always a thrill to have the Australian riders who do so well around the world come home to compete.”

Team Sky is once again bringing an experienced team to support Porte including British cycling sensation Geraint Thomas who finished third at the 2013 Santos Tour Down Under after wearing the Ochre leader’s jersey for three stages.

Porte will be joined by fellow Australian Chris Sutton who has a strong history with the Santos Tour Down Under taking honours on Stage 6 of the 2010 event and finished fourth in 2014 at the People’s Choice Classic.

Team Sky’s Richie Porte said: “This race is one of the highlights of my season. The support we receive at the Santos Tour Down Under is unbelievable.”

“I’ll never forget the atmosphere on Willunga Hill last year and the memories of winning that stage will stay with me forever. This year we have a really strong team heading into the race and we can’t wait to getting started.”

The team will be led by Team Manager with Kurt Arvesen (NOR) and riders Richie Porte (AUS), Pete Kennaugh (GBR), Luke Rowe (GBR), Ian Stannard (GBR), Salvatore Puccio (ITA), Geraint Thomas (GBR) and Chris ‘CJ’ Sutton (AUS).


Back to top
ATDW-Online Explore Visitor statistics, South Australia Restaurant Australia