South Australia to host new women’s cycling tour

27 November 2014

Australia’s top female cyclists will feature in a new four-day event as part of the 2015 Santos Tour Down Under.

The Santos Women’s Tour will be held from January 17 to 20, as part of Cycling Australia’s Subaru National Road Series.

Tourism Minister Leon Bignell said elite female cyclists from around Australia would converge on Adelaide for the new event.

“This is shaping up as one of the largest national female cycling events of its type, and we’re delighted it’s going to be in Adelaide in January as part of the Santos Tour Down Under,” he said.

“The three-stage Santos Women’s Cup has been a great success since it started in 2011, and this new four-stage race is sure to provide exciting racing for cycling fans.”

The Santos Women’s Tour will begin with a road race through the Adelaide Hills to Murray Bridge, followed by a criterium around Rymill Park in the city.

Stage three will travel from Tanunda to Campbelltown, with another criterium around Victoria Park to take place on the final day.

“Riders will be competing through South Australia’s beautiful landscapes and welcoming towns, and vying for overall victory in the heart of Adelaide,” said the Minister.

Two teams – Orica AIS and a composite Australian team – will be offered wild card entries into the event, which is also open to elite individual riders. $10,000 in prize money will be available.

Santos Tour Down Under Race Director Mike Turtur said women’s racing was an important part of the Santos Festival of Cycling.

“We’re thrilled to see the Santos Women’s Tour included in Cycling Australia’s Subaru National Road Series and know there will be fierce competition for the inaugural title in January,” he said.

For more information about the Santos Women’s Tour, go to:

Back to top
ATDW-Online Explore Visitor statistics, South Australia Restaurant Australia