South Australia shines at Tourism Awards

18 February 2013

South Australian tourism operators excelled at last night’s 2012 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards, taking home a record ten medals.

Narnu Farm, Hindmarsh Island, and Emaroo Port Hughes were both awarded the highest honour, winning Gold in their respective categories of Standard Accommodation and Deluxe Accommodation.

Minister for Tourism Leon Bignell congratulated the South Australian award winners for being recognised amongst the best in their field.

“The awards recognise not only the high level of service provided by these tourism operators but also the hard work they put in to making every visit memorable,” Minister Bignell said.

“Across this collection of exceptional quality tours, restaurants and accommodation, it is the people behind them that take them to the next level.

“Congratulations to our nationally acclaimed operators who continue to promote our great state and contribute to our economy.”

Silver and Bronze medals were awarded to the following South Australian tourism operators:

• Harbour Town Outlet Shopping Centre, West Beach: Silver in Specialised Tourism Services

• Pindarie Cellar Door, Tanunda: Silver in Tourism Wineries, Distilleries & Breweries

• Sinclair’s Gully, Norton Summit: Silver in the Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism

• Cellar Door Wine Festival Adelaide: Bronze in Festivals & Events

• Barossa Visitor Centre, Tanunda: Bronze in Visitor Information & Services

• Jacob’s Restaurant – Jacob’s Creek Visitor Centre, Rowland Flat: Bronze in Tourism

Restaurants & Catering Services

• BIG4 Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, West Beach: Bronze in Tourist & Caravan Parks

• Rawnsley Park Eco Villas, Hawker: Bronze in Unique Accommodation

South Australian Tourism Industry Council Chief Executive Ward Tilbrook said the national tourism awards provided the opportunity for South Australian tourism experiences to be recognised among the best of the best in the country.

“It is particularly rewarding to see our state winners on the national stage and being acknowledged for the amazing contribution they make to Australian tourism,” Mr Tilbrook said.

The awards were held at Princes Wharf 1 in Hobart, with 55 representatives from the South Australian tourism industry in attendance.

Back to top
ATDW-Online Explore Visitor statistics, South Australia Restaurant Australia