SA’s best operators celebrated at Tourism Awards

14 November 2015

Minister Leon Bignell
Minister for Tourism

The State’s most outstanding and innovative tourism businesses and operators have been
celebrated at the 2015 State Tourism Awards last night.

The award ceremony, at the Adelaide Convention Centre, featured winners across 30
categories, plus another 48 medallists.

Tourism Minister Leon Bignell said five tourism operators were inducted into the Tourism
Awards Hall of Fame for winning their category for three consecutive years:

  • 2015 Clipsal 500 Adelaide – best Major Festival and Event
  • Aboriginal Cultural Tours South Australia – best Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Tourism experience
  • The Playford – best Luxury Accommodation
  • Udder Delights Cheese Cellar– for Excellence in Food Tourism
  • Adelaide Shores – received the Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism
“Last night’s gala event was a celebration of the best in the industry,” Mr Bignell said.

“South Australia’s economy is in a state of transition and the growth of tourism is paramount,”
Mr Bignell said.

“Visitors – whether they be from interstate or overseas – expect a world-class experience
when they are here.

“Tourism businesses need to constantly evolve and transform to keep up with the trends both
domestically and internationally in order to stay competitive.

“These awards are a demonstration of the service excellence standards maintained by tourism
businesses. The winners have set very high standards by demonstrating creativity, innovation,
resilience and passion - attributes that will ensure our industry grows and continues.

“The State Government fully acknowledges importance of the industry and the powerful role it
has creating jobs. That’s why in this year’s State Budget we invested $35 million over two
years in marketing the state and attracting major events and conferences here.”

The South Australian Tourism Award winners will go on to represent the state at the Australian
Tourism Awards in Melbourne in February next year.

To see a full list of winners please click here

Back to top
ATDW-Online Visitor statistics, South Australia Restaurant Australia